When I was thinking about handmade at first time, I thought it was related to a "original -word" but I guess, I was wrong... I joined etsy to sell my original handmade product and some supplies a while ago but didn't work at all but strangely, I saw some product like bag, wallet not an original design but the selling works well. Sometimes, I just knew it the reference of the handcrafter use. I just knew it because once, accidentally, I found the pattern and design...I just thought, I knew it...it can be just an idea of one seller...it's too common, too similar...no modification, plain... Sometimes, I just feel tired, sucks and want to do the same, selling something using other's design (and if necessary, pattern)...who will know if I use someone else's work? They do it and make sales...I press my brain but what do I make sales? I got some compliments about my work...that's all... But again, my heart and brain disagree...It's so disgrace if I do it...I'm not just a crafter...I'm a designer...since I was a kid, ideas always come to my head and start from that, I learn hard so many technique to make my ideas come true...it was me...I'm proud of it......I'm proud if I can MAKE something but I'm more proud if I can CREATE something... I remember one or two members of some forums I joined said something to dare other members. It was like if it's our own design why not admit it? if it's not why not admit it? Would you admit it? Would I admit it? (Would those members admit it? (^.^) ) Well, if you follow my craft-journal (my web and blogs), you would know that I'm inspired by a lot of Japanese books but in the matters of cuteness, the simple style, the mix and match, especially for bags but now, I always try to design my own style and even shape or details. And for some crafts like hats or needle felting, crocheting...since I'm learning, of course a lot of the projects are from Japanese book...I won't said it was my own design nor pattern...but I would say if I modify the pattern (to get more fit measurement)... It's very-very rare for me to read like "confession of the originality or non originality" whether it's in the flickr or etsy...why? afraid if the copyright owner sue?...I even saw someone translate Sanrio characters crochet patterns into "word" pattern...I don't know whether she got the permission or not...but I'm not really sure...can't accuse someone though...I also read someone's story who made free crocheted scarf tutorial on her blog and the tutorial is misused unwisely by her reader...She sold the pattern without permission on etsy...the worse is, she also use the scarf images/pictures from the blog...I don't know whether I want to puch the seller face, or just laugh at this situation...situation where the originality doesn't matter anymore...MONEY DOES!...(^o^)... I saw a "handmade pledge" link and icon and would like to join...but then I think again...if it's "original pledge" or "indie designer pledge", I would!...but handmade?...I can do handmade bag from other designer's design and pattern...Bragging handmade, it's like "old thing"...of course, we are proud when we are able to make something on our own but don't we want more?...I thought we have the creativity brain in each of us... Everytime I make something from my Japanese books, I always feel challenged. I want to do better than this...I'll learn these all techniques and use it to make my own design...My 3 of some last bags I made are very-very original...I've never seen them in any Japanese books I have, or not in the market...but the technique? I used lining techique in my Japanese books (you know, leaving a small hole to turn up the right side of the project) and sew the hole with handsew. I thought there was no handsew and there was some other technique...but the handsew, when I do it neatly, it will turn out invisible...I use this "handsew" idea on any projects when it's necessary... Don't you feel challenged when you are able to do your own handmade project based on other's idea/design/pattern? Don't you want more? Don't you want your OWN style or original? I know finding an original IDEA is hard today...but finding original STYLE? hey, why not?... I admire the project runaway casts creativity...super-duper-ultra-macro-genious!...they have ALL the basic and techniques already, but if you see their idea, their style...it's soooo inspiring; inspiring in a way that "hey, there's stilll a hole for an idea and/or style..." We can do our own "originality" if we are willing to use our creativity brain side a little bit. I knew, some people would say, at last the most important think is to make sales or money!...(^o^)...well, it's all up to you...May be I'm just a pure-artist-blood-born-girl...Now, I'm thinking how to combine this pure artist blood with business...kind of hard...but I'm keep struggling and fighting for success PS: Do you remember when 1 of the contestants was out because the Hilton girl said that the dress like her dress that she wore some months ago?...the designer said something like she knew it and inspired by...but she got out at last...because it's not her original... cherio,sweet nichan |
cherio,